top of page

Abstracts

Recent Posts

Comic Explorations


Recent work in Education and New Literacy Studies has emphasised the value of using multimodal methods, as a means of exploring new ways of looking at the world. However, such methods can sometimes seem daunting, drawing on existing skills or abilities that we may feel that we do not possess. With this in mind, during this presentation I share some examples from my PhD thesis, where I investigated the lived experience of children engaged in collaborative play in and around the video game Minecraft. I seek to demonstrate how I used visual and aural methods, including the use of comic strips, to develop an approach that worked in synergy with the focus of the research. I explain how this process required me to challenge my own perceptions of myself as a researcher, whilst generating alternative ways of seeing and representing the world.

bottom of page